Adventure (March 26th, 2014)

So this morning, the girls (Caroline, Seri, and Kristin) and I woke up around 8:30ish and got ready for a day filled with Chicago activities. We started off the day with coffees and then hopped the train to Wrigleyville. Let me tell you, I feel so happy walking through those streets and taking in everything that surrounds my favorite building in the entire country. The people that live in that small little niche of Chicago seem so…together. There really isn’t a better way to put it, because those that live in it are all in that specific neighborhood for the sake of convenience and availability to Wrigley. I was also really touched that my friends would even take the adventure, because they either aren’t huge baseball fans or (shoutout to Caroline) diehard Cardinals fans, and this is stepping in dangerous territory. So thankful that it was a moment I could spend with my gals. 

Following my trip to Cubs heaven, we got back on the train and hit up Water Tower Plaza mall. The first store we went into was Lush Cosmetics, which if you haven’t heard of them I highly recommend checking them out, and not only was I introduced to new types of organic events, but I also got a major allergy issue taken care of that I woke up with this morning. Most of the afternoon was spent there, but it was fun because we were all on the same level, and it was fun finding things that I have wanted for a while. I also had my first Topshop experience today, which was interesting. It’s a rather heartbreaking moment when you spy a dress or top that is right up your alley, but has the price tag screaming “HAHA NOPE” right in your face. It’s hard to have an expensive taste on a college budget. Especially when my parents have huge expectations of me by being the oldest. We rounded off the day with deep dish pizza at Gino’s East so that was fabulous.

As I sit here in my friend Kristin’s apartment, I have a killer view of skyscrapers and apartment buildings lit up for the now evening. As I take the scene in, I can’t help but get excited for a future in a city bigger than the one I’m in now. For the longest time, I used to think that Chicago was the city for me, mainly because of the Cubs and my family, but it’s safe to say that I want to keep it a city that I look forward to visiting, and not wearing out the luster by living here. There are so many places I want to explore here, and there are so many trips back in the future where I can venture out and take it on.  

Leave a Reply

